Artist of the Week, John Ainsworth (Manchester)

14 Nov

Hey there interwebbers! Thanks for checking out Ashtons Online Ink.

For my first music related post I would like to share with you all one of Manchesters finest, if not finest unsigned acoustic singer songwriters, Mr John Ainsworth.

Singer/Songwriter John Ainsworth (Photo taken by Andy Wardle 2010)

I had the pleasure of meeting John sometime ago on a night out in Manchester and at the time was completely oblivious to his musical brilliance.  Unbeknown to my drunken self, I was chatting to a young talented musician that ticks every proverbial box in my music taste and would soon after become one of my favourite unsigned artists.

Influenced by artists such as; Jeff Buckley, Aqualung,  Bright eyes, Radiohead and a fabulous Blackpool born musician called Karima Francis, Ainsworth creates beautifully crafted acoustic songs on his 12 string and finishes them off with captivating vocals. Okay, so I am a little biased on this one as I’m pretty much a sucker for anything acoustic, however when it comes to favourites John is top of the pile!

When he’s not busy writing and recording songs for his upcoming EP, John can be found most of the time playing to a wide variety of audiences across the Manchester music scene. For information on where to see John visit his facebook page and don’t forget to ‘LIKE’ it!

I’m going to finish this post with one of my favourite songs and videos from his collection, so be sure to have a listen, you will not regret it.

(John Ainsworth Live at Moolah Rouge Studios, Manchester)

For a songwriter of only 23, John writes and performs some truly inspirational songs, all of which can be (and should be) admired on his myspace/ facebook and youtube page. If you are a fan of his music, be sure to spread the word!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment